FAQ

/FAQ

Consult this Frequently Asked Questions page for any information about lightning current, air terminals, and regulations matters.

During strong contrasts in temperatures (heat waves) very particular clouds appear: cumulonimbus.

In these clouds (which can rise many km), important updrafts produce many water and ice. The mixing inside these clouds produce electrical charges which gather in different locations. The positive charges being up, and negative charges being down.

When the dielectric strength of the space between up and down is not sufficient anymore, an emission produces (a huge spark). The lightning is the visible representation of this emission. This is a very violent and short electrical discharge, passing through the space between cloud and ground.

The lightning strikes are discharges appearing between the clouds. France is impacted each year between 1 and 2 million times by lightning, depending on the meteorological conditions. This frequency depends from a location to another.

Discover our air terminals IONIFLASH MACH NG

The specific sound of the thunder comes from the rise of the pressure with electrodynamic origin. This overpressure disappears when the strike is off, producing an acoustic shockwave. The acoustic strength and intensity depends on the form, the length, the intensity and shortness of the lightning strike.

The keraunic level (Nk) corresponds to the strikes number and, more precisely, the number of thunders heard in a defined area.

The lightning density (Ng) is the number of lightning impacts per km² and per year.

The density of the touching points of the lightning onto the ground (Nsg) is the average number of lightning strikes onto the ground per km² and per year.

It is estimated that lightning strikes about 1 time out on 10 thunders heard. So Nk =10Ng

Below is the French map of the density of the touching points of the lightning onto the ground (Nsg) from the NFC 17-102 (2011) standard according to the data supplied by Météorage :

 

Carte Nsg France

Below is a world map showing the lightning density (Ng) measured by the NASA :

keraunic level world

Discover our air terminals IONIFLASH MACH NG

The keraunic level is the number of days per year when thunder has been heard in a defined area. The French departments have been separated in 2 categories: Keraunic level less or equal to 25, and keraunic level over 25.

There is 2 types of lightning strikes : Upwards and downwards, defined by the direction of the leader (initiation of the lightning, preparing the way until the lightning)

The names of the cloud-to-ground lightning flashes depend on the polarity and orientation of the first leader.

So, we have :

downward negative leaderThe downward negative leader comes from a downward leader from negative layer in lightning cloud, spreading to the ground with 70 to 1200 km/s velocity. Nearby, an upward leader is generated. When they meet, the discharge occurs by electrons transfer from the cloud to the ground. These are the most common type.

 

 

 

 

 

downward positive leaderThe downward positive leader is rare, and very powerful in general. It can be seen during winter lightnings. The most powerful are called superbolts and megabolts. This type of lightning strike comes from a downward leader coming from a positive charge of the cloud, moving until 500 to 2500 km/s velocity.

Generally, they are very powerful lightnings producing in terminal phase of the lightning, when the negative layer is less dense and does not interfere on the ground by reversing its polarity.

When the contact is made, the positive charges are transferred from the cloud to the ground.

 

 

 

upward negative leaderThe upward negative leader comes from an upward negative charge. This upward leader travels from 80 to 460 km/s velocity. As for all upward charges, it starts from a sharp of the ground (mountain, telecommunication tower,…) and spreads until a cloud area charged positively. With low distance, a downward leader is generated from a cloud. When the contact is made, the positive charges are transferred from the cloud to the ground.

 

 

 

 

 

upward positive leaderThe upward positive leader starts from an upward leader moving with 40 to 70 km/s velocity near the ground, and which can reach until 1000 km/s altitude. This leader comes from an upward positive leader from the ground. These leaders will spread until the base of the cloud positively charged. When approaching, the discharge occurs and the electrons are transferred from the cloud to the ground.

Discover our air terminals IONIFLASH MACH NG

The air terminals are dedicated to protect a building from direct impacts by moving the atmospherical discharges until the ground. The principle consists in creating one or several preferential impacts points of Lightning, with low impedance conductive elements, and then, to spread and dissipate the lightning current in the ground.

As a complement, the Surge Protector Device ensures the internal protection of the building, for the overvoltages with high amplitude damaging or destroying the installations, the electronic and electric devices. It will enable to limit the voltage by deviating it until the earth of the building.

Discover our products for lightning protection

There is several types of air terminals, ensuring the lightning protection of the structures :

  • Simple Rod air terminal
  • Meshed cage air terminal
  • Catenary wires
  • Early Streamer Emission air terminal (ESE)

The Simple Rod air terminal is composed from a metallic rod with 2 to 8 m height dominating the structure to protect, and linked to 2 down conductors minimum, and 2 earthing systems. The protection radius ensured by this air terminal which is limited to 30 m more or less (Protection level IV, height = 60 m), especially dedicated to the protection of small structures or areas like towers, chimneys, tanks, water tower, antenna masts… The EN 62305-3 standard describes the installation procedure for these air terminals.

13 Simple Rods, 13 down conductors, and 13 earthing systems are necessary to ensure the protection below :

 

 

 

protection area with simple rods system

The meshed cage protection is composed from a meshing in roof surface and in the front face around the building. Surrounding the roof surface, and on high points, capture points are positioned. A conductors’ network is placed at the outer perimeter of the roof. This network is completed by transverse conductors. The size of the meshing is 5 to meters, and depends on the efficiency needed for the protection. On the front face of the building, the down conductors are linked at the top to the meshing of the roof. And, down, to specific earthing systems. The distance between two conductors is 10 to 25 meters, and depend on the efficiency needed for the protection. The EN 62305-3 describes the installation procedure for this method.

Generally, this method is heavy and expensive, due to the complexity of the structures to protect.

26 capture points, 26 down conductors and a grounded loop earthing system are necessaries to ensure the protection of the structure here below :

protection area with meshed cage system

The catenary wires protection is a method closed to the meshed cage principle, because it is constituted with meshing of the conductors far from the structure to protect, to avoid any contact with lightning current.

Catenary wires are located over the structure to protect, connected to down conductors and specific earthing systems. The width of the meshing and distance between the down conductors must respect the same rules as for the meshed cage. The EN 62305-3 describes the installation procedure for this method.

Generally, this method is heavy and expensive, due to the complexity of the structures to protect.

fil tendu

The ESE air terminal is a terminal which enables to generate artificially an upward leader earlier than a simple rod, with an ionization system, in order to establish a special impact on its point. The capture of the lightning strike being faster than a simple rod, this technology enables to benefit from larger protection areas, ensuring protection for large dimensions structures.

The generated protection radius depends on the early streamer emission value of the air terminal (Δt in µs), its height, and the efficiency of the protection. The protection radius ensured by this type of air terminal is 120 m (Protection level IV, height = 60 m , early streamer emission time 60µs) The NFC 17-102 standard describes the installation procedure for this type of air terminal.

The installation of this type of air terminal is easy and cheaper than other technologies. It can protect whole buildings with one E.S.E. air terminal. It enables the protection of a structure and its environment, the protection of opened areas and well integrate in the architecture of a structure without aesthetic alteration.

1 ESE, 2 down conductors and 2 earthing systems are necessary to ensure the protection below :

pda protection

Discover our air terminals IONIFLASH MACH NG
Contact us

5 steps must be done to ensure an efficient lightning protection. In this context, the Engineering department of France Paratonnerres can follow you up during each step:

  • Lightning Risk Analysis (ARF): Assessment of the elements to be protected.
  • Technical Study: (ET): detailed preventive measures and protection devices to implement.
  • Material supply: Direct and indirect lightning protection.
  • Installation: installation of the material, in conformity with the technical study, and with qualified and partners network
  • Periodical maintenance: Initial verification by a third party, maintenance and annual verification of the installed protections.

In France, the installations classified for environment called “ICPE” in France are industrial, tertiary or agricultural (production factory, water treatment plant, workshops, storage buildings, hospitals…) likely to present some risks or to generate pollution or damages for neighbourhood health, patrimony, and environment. The person in charge of a classified site must implement the lightning risk analysis (according to NFC 17-102 and EN 62305-2) for its site, if it is required in one of the sections designated in Ministerial order of July 19th 2011.

Ministerial orders for public buildings (like places of worship, alimentary products storage, fertilizer plants, sorting centres, nuclear installations, covered warehouses for combustible material, pyrotechnic structures, poultring farms, hotels, restaurants and altitude shelters) also defines regulatory framework for the verification and the lightning protection installation.

A surge protector is an electronical protection apparatus, acting like a variable impedance, depending on the tension at its poles :

In normal functioning (no lightning impact), the SPD is acting like an opened circuit for the rest of the installation.
At the time of a lightning impact, the SPD becomes a passing element (closed circuit) (important and quick rise of the voltage). The SPD is acting dually: making the overcurrent flow and limiting the overvoltage.

The SPDS are classified as follow :

  • Type 1 SPD (named equipotentiality SPD) must be placed in the main electrical panel, entering in the installation. It can deviate the direct energy of a lightning impact. It enables to flow the return current spreading from the earthing conductor until network conductors. The type 1 SPDs have a 10/350 µs wave. The NF C 15-100 standard (ed. 2002) makes compulsory the type 1 SPDs in lightning protection installations.
  • Type 2 SPDs is the main protection for all electrical low voltage installations. Installed in each electrical panel, it avoids the overvoltages in electrical installations and protects the receivers. The type 2 SPDs have a 8/20 µs wave.
  • Type 3 SPDs have a low flow capacity. So it is compulsory to install it as a complement of type 2 SPDs, near sensitive receivers. Type 3 SPDs have a combination of 1.2/50 µs voltage wave and 8/20 µs current wave.
Discover our range of surge arresters

If the E.S.E. is installed on the highest point of the village, linked to 2 down conductors and 2 special earthing systems, in fact, the homes can be protected from direct impacts of lightning, in the protection area of the E.S.E.
However, it is compulsory to implement type 1 SPDs on the electrical installation of the church, and recommended to implement type 1 SPDs on each home protected by the ESE.

The NFC 17-102 limits the early streamer emission time of the ESE between 10 and 60 µs. So, France Paratonnerres proposes 5 ESE IONIFLASH MACH NG, with different early streamer emission time, giving a solution to adapt the protection area for the structure to protect.

early streamer emission time

Discover our air terminals IONIFLASH MACH NG

FAQ

Consultez cette foire au questions pour toute information sur le fonctionnement du courant foudre, des paratonnerres, ainsi que de la législation.

C’est à l’occasion de forts contrastes de température (orages de chaleur) que se forment ces nuages très particuliers des orages : les cumulo-nimbus.

Dans ces derniers, qui font plusieurs kilomètres de hauteur, de très forts courants ascendants produisent de grandes quantités d’eau et de glace. Le brassage qui a lieu à l’intérieur de ces nuages produit des charges électriques qui se regroupent à des endroits éloignés, les charges positives étant en haut, les charges négatives dans la partie basse.

Quand la rigidité électrique de l’espace séparant ces deux zones n’est plus suffisante, il se produit un amorçage (une étincelle gigantesque). La foudre est la manifestation visible de cet amorçage. C’est une très violente et très brève décharge d’électricité qui traverse l’espace depuis le nuage jusqu’au sol.

Les éclairs sont les décharges qui ont lieu entre les nuages. La France est frappée chaque année entre 1 et 2 millions de fois par la foudre en fonction des conditions météorologiques. Cette fréquence est variable d’un point à l’autre du territoire.

Le bruit caractéristique du tonnerre provient d’une élévation de pression d’origine électrodynamique. Cette surpression disparaît lorsque l’éclair s’éteint, produisant une onde de choc acoustique. La durée et l’intensité acoustique du tonnerre dépendent de la forme, de la longueur, de l’intensité et de la brièveté du coup de foudre.

Le niveau kéraunique (Nk) correspond au nombre d’orages et plus précisément, au nombre de coups de tonnerre entendus dans une zone donnée.

La densité de foudroiement (Ng) représente le nombre de coups de foudre par km² et par an.

La densité de points de contact de foudre au sol (Nsg) est le nombre moyen d’impacts de foudre au sol par km² et par an.

On estime que la foudre frappe environ 1 fois pour 10 coups de tonnerre entendus donc Nk = 10Ng

Ci-dessous la carte de la densité de points de contact de foudre au sol (Nsg) de la France issue de la norme NFC 17-102 (2011) d’après les données fournies par Météorage :

Carte Nsg France

Ci-dessous une carte du monde avec la densité de foudroiement (Ng) mesurée par la NASA :

Niveau kéraunique Monde

Le niveau kéraunique est le nombre de jour par an où l’orage a été entendu dans une zone déterminée. Les départements français ont été divisés en deux catégories ceux dont le niveau kéraunique est inférieur ou égal à 25 et ceux dont niveau est supérieur à 25. La protection contre la foudre est indispensable lorsque le niveau kéraunique est supérieur à 25.

Pour les coups de foudre, il y a deux grands types: les ascendants et les descendants. Ils sont déterminés par la direction prise par le leader (amorce de l’éclair, celui qui prépare le chemin à l’éclair).

Les éclairs nuage-sol sont nommés en fonction de la polarité et du sens de propagation du premier traceur.

On a ainsi les éclairs suivants :

Descendant NégatifLe coup de foudre descendant négatif provient d’un traceur descendant partant de la couche négative du nuage orageux et se propageant jusqu’au sol à la vitesse de 70 à 1200 km/s. A faible distance de celui-ci, un traceur ascendant est émis. Lors de leur rencontre la décharge a lieu et consiste en un transfert d’électrons du nuage vers le sol. Ceux-ci sont les plus fréquents.

 

 

 

 

 

Descendant PositifLe coup de foudre descendant positif est rare et en général très puissant. Il s’observe principalement lors des orages d’hiver. Les plus puissants sont appelés superbolts et même mégabolts. Ce type d’éclair provient d’un traceur descendant qui prend naissance dans la charge positive du nuage en se déplaçant à une vitesse allant de 500 à 2500 km/s.
En principe il s’agit d’éclairs très puissants qui se produisent généralement en phase terminale de l’orage, lorsque que la couche négative est moins dense et n’influence plus le sol en inversant sa polarité.
Lorsque le contact est établi, il s’ensuit un transfert de charges positives du nuage vers le sol.

 

 

 

Ascendant négatifLe coup de foudre ascendant négatif provient d’une charge ascendante négative. Ce traceur ascendant voyage à une vitesse voisine de 80 à 460 km/s. Comme toutes les charges ascendantes, il débute à partir d’une aspérité au niveau du sol (montagne, antenne de télécommunication,…) et se propage vers une zone du nuage chargée positivement. A faible distance, un traceur descendant est émis à partir du nuage. Lors du contact un transfert de charges positives du nuage vers le sol a lieu.

 

 

 

 

 

Ascendant positifLe coup de foudre ascendant positif débute par un traceur ascendant se déplaçant à une vitesse proche de 40 à 70 km/s près du sol, puis pouvant atteindre jusqu’à environ 1000 km/s en altitude. Ce traceur provient d’une charge positive ascendante au sol. Ces traceurs vont évoluer vers la base du nuage chargée négativement. Lors de leur approche, un autre traceur, cette fois-ci descendant partira du nuage. Lors de leur rencontre, la décharge a lieu et consiste en un transfert d’électrons du
nuage vers le sol.

Les paratonnerres sont destinés à préserver un bâtiment des impacts directs de la foudre en dirigeant les décharges atmosphériques vers le sol. Le principe consiste à créer un ou plusieurs points d’impacts préférentiels de la foudre, par des éléments conducteurs de faible impédance, puis d’écouler et de dissiper dans le sol le courant de foudre.

En complément du paratonnerre, le parafoudre assure la protection interne du bâtiment contre les surtensions de très forte amplitude qui endommagent ou détruisent les installations et les appareils électriques et électroniques. Il va permettre de limiter la tension en la déviant vers la terre du bâtiment.

Il existe différents types de paratonnerres permettant d’assurer la protection contre la foudre des structures :

  • Paratonnerre à tige simple (PTS)
  • Paratonnerre à cage maillée
  • Paratonnerre à fils tendus
  • Paratonnerre à dispositif d’amorçage (PDA)

Le paratonnerre à tige simple PTS est composé d’une tige métallique effilée d’une hauteur de 2 à 8 mètres de haut dominant la structure à protéger, reliée à minimum deux conducteurs de descente et à deux prises de terre. Le rayon de protection assuré par ce type de paratonnerre étant limité à 30 mètres environ (Niveau de protection IV, hauteur = 60 mètres), il est plus particulièrement réservé à la protection de petites structures ou zones tels que pylônes, cheminées, cuves, châteaux d’eau, mâts d’antennes etc… La norme EN 62305-3 décrit la procédure d’installation de ce type de paratonnerre.

13 PTS, 13 conducteurs de descentes et 13 prises de terre sont nécessaires pour assurer la protection foudre de la structure ci-dessous :

Protection PTS

Le paratonnerre à cage maillée est composé d’un maillage en toiture et en façade englobant la structure à protéger. En toiture, des pointes caprices sont positionnées en périphérie et sur les points hauts. Un réseau de conducteurs suit le périmètre extérieur de la toiture. Ce réseau est complété par des transversales. La taille des mailles est comprise entre 5 et 20 mètres et varie en fonction de l’efficacité recherchée de la protection. En façade, des conducteurs de descente sont reliés en partie haute au maillage de toiture et en partie basse à des prises de terre spécifiques. La distance entre deux descentes est comprise entre 10 et 25 mètres, et varie en fonction de l’efficacité recherchée de la protection. La norme EN 62305-3 décrit la procédure d’installation de ce type de paratonnerre.

La mise en œuvre de ce type de paratonnerre est souvent lourde et coûteuse du fait de la complexité des structures à protéger.

26 pointes captrices, 26 conducteurs de descentes et une prise de terre en boucle sont nécessaires pour assurer la protection foudre de la structure ci-dessous :

Protection cage maillée

Le paratonnerre à fil tendu est proche du principe d’une cage maillée car il est constitué d’un maillage de conducteurs distant de la structure à protéger ayant pour but d’éviter que le courant de foudre soit en contact avec celle-ci.

Des fils conducteurs tendus sont implantés au-dessus de la structure à protéger, raccordés à des conducteurs de descente et à des prises de terre spécifiques. La largeur des mailles et la distance entre les conducteurs de descente doit respecter les mêmes règles que la cage maillée. La norme EN 62305-3 décrit la procédure d’installation de ce type de paratonnerre. La mise en œuvre de ce type de paratonnerre est souvent lourde et coûteuse du fait de la complexité des structures à protéger.

Fil Tendu

Le paratonnerre à dispositif d’amorçage PDA est un paratonnerre qui permet de générer artificiellement à l’aide d’un dispositif d’ionisation un traceur ascendant plus précoce qu’un paratonnerre à tige simple, et donc d’établir un point d’impact privilégié sur sa pointe. La capture du coup de foudre étant plus rapide qu’avec un paratonnerre à tige simple, cette technologie permet de bénéficier de zones de protection plus étendues, assurant la protection de structures de grandes dimensions.Le rayon de protection généré est fonction de la valeur de l’avance à l’amorçage du paratonnerre (Δt en µs), de sa hauteur, et de l’efficacité de la protection. Le rayon de protection assuré par ce type de paratonnerre est de 120m (Niveau de protection IV, hauteur = 60 mètres, avance à l’amorçage de 60µs). La norme NFC 17-102 décrit la procédure d’installation de ce type de paratonnerre.

La mise en œuvre de ce type de paratonnerre est simple et peu couteuse en comparaison des autres technologies. Elle peut permettre de protéger un ensemble de bâtiment avec le même paratonnerre, permet de protéger une structure et son environnement, permet la protection de zones ouvertes et s’intègre très bien dans l’architecture d’une structure sans altération de l’esthétique.

1 PDA, 2 conducteurs de descentes et 2 prises de terre foudre sont nécessaires pour assurer la protection foudre de la structure ci-dessous :

Protection PDA

5 étapes doivent être mises en place une protection efficace contre la foudre. Dans ce cadre, le bureau d’étude France PARATONNERRES peut vous accompagner tout au long de chacune des étapes suivantes :

  • Analyse du Risque Foudre (ARF) : identification des équipements qui doivent être protégés.
  • Étude technique (ET) : détail des mesures de prévention et des dispositifs de protection à mettre en œuvre.
  • Fourniture du matériel : protection contre les effets directs et indirects de la foudre.
  • Installation : mise en place du matériel conformément à l’étude technique via un réseau de partenaires formés et qualifiés.
  • Vérification périodique : vérification initiale par un tiers, maintenance et vérification annuelle des protections installées.

En France, les Installations Classées pour la Protection de l’Environnement dites “ICPE” sont des sites industriels, tertiaires ou agricoles (usine de production, de traitement eau, ateliers, bâtiments de stockage, hôpitaux…) susceptibles de présenter des risques ou de générer de la pollution ou des nuisances pour les riverains en matière de santé publique, de patrimoine et d’environnement. L’exploitant d’un site classé ICPE a pour obligation d’analyser le risque relatif à la foudre (suivant les normes NFC 17-102 et EN 62305-2) de son installation si celle-ci est soumise à autorisation dans une rubrique citée dans l’Arrêté Ministériel du 19 juillet 2011.
Des arrêtés ministériels concernant les ERP (établissements recevant du public), les lieux de cultes, le stockage de produits alimentaires, les dépôts d’engrais, les centres de tris et de déchets, les installations nucléaires, les entrepôts couverts de matières combustibles, les établissements pyrotechniques, les élevages de volaille et les hôtels, restaurants et refuge d’altitude définissent également un cadre règlementaire pour la vérification et l’installation d’un système de protection foudre.

Un parafoudre est un appareil de protection électronique qui se comporte comme une impédance variable en fonction de la tension à ses bornes :

  • en fonctionnement normal (pas de coup de foudre) le parafoudre est vu comme un circuit ouvert par le reste de l’installation
  • au moment du coup de foudre, le parafoudre devient passant (augmentation importante et rapide de la tension). Le rôle du parafoudre est alors double : écouler la surintensité et limiter la surtension.

Les parafoudres se classent de la façon suivante :

  • le parafoudre de type 1 (dit parafoudre d’équipotentialité) doit être placé dans le tableau électrique principal en tête d’installation. Il est capable de dévier l’énergie d’un coup de foudre direct. Il permet donc d’écouler le courant de foudre « en retour » se propageant du conducteur de terre vers les conducteurs du réseau. Les parafoudres de type 1 sont caractérisés par une onde de courant 10/350 μs. La norme NF C 15-100 édition 2002, rend obligatoire les parafoudres Type 1 dans les installations équipées de paratonnerres.
  • Le parafoudre de type 2 est la protection principale de toutes les installations électriques basse tension. Installé dans chaque tableau électrique, il évite la propagation des surtensions dans les installations électriques et protège les récepteurs. Les parafoudres de type 2 sont caractérisés par une onde de courant 8/20 μs.
  • Le parafoudre de type 3 possèdent une faible capacité d’écoulement. Il est donc obligatoirement installé en complément des parafoudres de type 2 et à proximité des récepteurs sensibles. Le parafoudre de type 3 est caractérisé par une combinaison des ondes de tension (1,2/50 μs) et de courant (8/20 μs).

Si le PDA est installé sur le point culminant du village, relié à deux conducteurs de descente et à deux prises de terre foudre spécifiques, les habitations peuvent effectivement être protégé contre les impacts directs de la foudre dans la limite de la zone de protection du PDA.

Cependant, il est obligatoire de mettre en place des parafoudres de type 1 sur l’installation électrique de l’église et conseillé de mettre en place des parafoudres de type 1 sur chaque habitation protégée par le PDA.

La norme NFC 17-102 limite l’avance à l’amorçage des PDA entre 10 et 60µs. Ainsi, France PARATONNERRES propose 5 PDA IONIFLASH MACH NG avec différentes avances à l’amorçage permettant d’adapter la zone de protection à la structure à protéger.

Avance à l'amorçage